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Technical Bulletin 
Division of Public and Behavioral Health 

Date: December 13, 2018 
Topic: Vaccine Required at Minimum Recommended Age for Students Enrolling into Early Education 
Programs, Preschool and Kindergarten 
Contact: Shannon Bennett, Immunization Program Manager or Pam Forest, MD, Provider Quality Assurance 
Manager 
To: Immunization Providers, School Nurses, County Health Officers, Health Care Quality and Compliance, 
Local Health Districts and Nevada Child Care Facilities, Department of Education, School District 
Administrators, Boards of Trustees of School Districts, Charter School Officials, and Private School Officials 

According to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 392.435, 394.192, and Nevada Administrative Codes (NAC) 392.105, 
children must prove immunity to Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Poliomyelitis, Rubella, Rubeola (Measles), 
Mumps, Hepatitis A, Hepatitis B, and Varicella prior to enrollment into a public, private, or charter school in 
Nevada, unless excused because of a religious belief or medical condition. 

Starting at the beginning of the 2019/2020 school year, in addition to these requirements, it is now 
necessary for students enrolling into early education programs, preschool and kindergarten in Nevada to 
receive all required vaccines at the youngest recommended age per the recommendations of the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). For example, 
the fifth dose of DTaP is recommended between four (4) and six (6) years of age. Starting at the beginning of 
the 2019/2020 school year, the fifth dose of DTaP vaccine is now required at age four (4) years if the child is 
enrolled in a school in Nevada. Please review the table on the next page for further examples. Any child who 
is behind on Nevada’s required immunizations must be brought up-to-date utilizing the ACIP Catch Up 
Schedule. 

Immunizing students at the youngest recommended age further protects the students and their peers at the 
earliest time possible. For example, the fifth dose of DTaP, when given at four (4) years of age, increases 
antibody levels and decreases the risk of older children transmitting the disease to younger siblings and/or 
classmates who are too young to have completed the vaccine series. 

For more information regarding the ACIP immunization schedule please visit: 
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/index.html.
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Required Immunization Age Range Dose Number Age Required* 
Hepatitis B 6-18 months 3 6 months 
DTaP 15-18 months 4 15 months 
DTaP 4-6 years 5 4 years 
Polio (IPV) 6-18 months 3 6 months 
Polio (IPV) 4-6 years 4 4 years 
MMR 12-15 months 1 12 months 
MMR 4-6 years 2 4 years 
Varicella 12-15 months 1 12 months 
Varicella 4-6 years 2 4 years 
Hepatitis A 12-23 months 1 12 months 
Hepatitis A 18-23 months 2 18 months 

*Age required if minimum interval has passed 
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